Meetings

Bexley Historical Society's talks are held monthly at 7.45pm for 8pm start at the hall of St John Fisher RC Church, 48, Thanet Road, Bexley Kent DA5 1AP. Talks are free for Members. Visitors are very welcome with a fee of £3.00 per meeting.

 

There is a small car park next to the St John Fisher Church and there is a public car park in Thanet Road which is free after 6pm. Bexley Village is served by bus routes: 132, 229, 269, 492, B12. Bexley Railway Station is a short walk away.

 

 

Talks in 2018-2019

 

Monday 10 September 2018: The Foundling Museum, by Thomas Aird

 

A volunteer at The Foundling Museum, Thomas will tell us the intriguing story behind London's Foundling Hospital and the children who grew up there.

 

Monday 8 October 2018: Jolly Colonel and Nitrate King, by Will Robley

 

John Thomas North, born in 1842, invested in the South American nitrate industry. Later known as the Col North, the ‘Nitrate King’, he created Avery Hill Mansion and its Winter Gardens.

 

Monday 12 November 2018: A Child's Life in the Middle Ages, by Imogen Corrigan

 

Where are the children in Medieval art? So often they are missing and it’s sometimes assumed that because of the high infant mortality rates, parents deliberately didn’t bond with their children. Nothing could be further from the truth; children were cherished, cosseted and spoilt, but they worked hard, alongside adults too. We know that they loved toys as well as word games, bunking off school and teasing their teachers. This lecture goes from before the cradle with superstitions surrounding pregnancy and childbirth, to the trials and tribulations of teenage years and all too often to an early grave.

 

Monday 10 December 2018: The Fighting Temeraire, by Alan Payne

 

The Story behind Britain's favourite painting of 1838 by the artist J. M. W. Turner.

 

Talks in 2019

 

Monday 14 January 2019: A Spot Called Crayford: The Legend of Hengest, by Peter Daniel

 

Monday 11 February 2019: AGM, then King's Cross and St Pancras, by Chris Burton

 

Monday 11 March 2019: Gravesend:Gateway to the Thames, by Christoph Bull

 

Monday 8 April 2019: The History and Work of a Professional Toastmaster, by Phil Shorthouse

 

Monday 13 May 2019: A Schoolgirl's War, by Mary Smith

 

Monday 10 June 2019: Cadbury, Fry and Rowntree - the Chocolate Quakers, by Fred Lemont

 

Monday 8 July 2019: The History of the London Pearly Kings and Queens Society, by Pearly King of Woolwich and Pearly Queen of Royal Greenwich

 

Monday 12 August 2019: The August Quiz, by Sally Kirkpatrick

 

Monday 9 September 2019: The Origins and Evolution of the Progress Estate, by Keith Billinghurst

 

Monday 14 October 2019: to be confirmed

 

Monday 11 November 2019: Wandering through the Crays, by Jerry Dowlen

 

Monday 9 December 2019: Bits That Don't Fit, by Steve Hookins

 

Meetings

Meetings are held at the hall of St John Fisher RC Church, Thanet Road, Bexley

Contact us

For more information about Bexley Historical Society, contact us

Follow us

Print Print | Sitemap
© bexleyhistoricalsociety